WHO ARE YOu?

During  the recent World Cup, I was amused by the oddities of some of the National Anthems.

Ours of course are as odd and peculiar as any. We must be one of the few nations whose National Anthem is a divisive, and not a unifying, force. (Scots can hardly be expected to sing with enthusiasm a song which includes the line ‘rebellious Scots to crush…)

But some countries’ anthems don’t appear to have any words at all. Some go on and on endlessly like a symphony, and you’re just thinking, thank god that’s over , when the wretched orchestra starts up again, as if the audience hasn’t been paying enough attention.

Some teams sing lustily; some do not sing at all, and some like ours have singers and non-singers. Some adopt a special stance (hand on heart etc) and others just shuffle about.

But I do hope everyone finds an anthem for their country that they find at least tolerable. I could listen to O Flower of Scotland the livelong day, and sing it too!

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

2 Responses to WHO ARE YOu?

  1. Sheena says:

    Anne, today I was trying to re-assemble Claire’s bike trailer and pump up the tires etc. and was getting quite cross when various parts wouldn’t co-operate. Combined with a power saw across the street and some thumping car stereo, I was nearly homicidal. I asked Claire to sing me a song for a distraction. She started singing “The Flower of Scotland!” I hadn’t realized my indoctrination was so thorough.

  2. adhocannie says:

    What must it feel like to have written a song that becomes so powerful a rallying cry?

Leave a comment