UPDATE ON ELISABETH AND ROB

Following advice from both their firms, Elisabeth and Rob have taken a few days holiday and gone to Osaka, which is near Kyoto, south of Tokyo on the shinkansen.   They are due to visit their friends in Beijing at the weekend and will hope to arrange to fly from Osaka.   We all hope the situation may by the time of their proposed return to Tokyo, be a bit more stable.   Thanks for all your kind enquiries.

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

2 Responses to UPDATE ON ELISABETH AND ROB

  1. Audrey Wiilliams says:

    Dear Anne
    Please do not think that because I have not been in touch since the earthquake that I have not had Elisabeth and Rob very much on my mind. Truth to tell I had forgotten that you had set up this site and eventually found it nestling amongst some old emails. I am so relieved that they are alright. You expressed so well the feelings of so many of us. When one has visited a place it seems to hit home more when something terrible happens there. I was deeply saddened to see the devastation in Christchurch, having been there two years ago with one of my granddaughters. It is indeed difficult to remain optimistic with so many awful things happening around the world but I do believe that it is important to try. Having read your piece about the ‘monstrous regiment’ I think you will understand when I say what an uplifting experience for me it was to sing in Exeter Cathedral yesterday. Of course the music is very special but there is something else which is over and beyond just that. I wish I could express what I want to say as well as you do!
    Audrey

    • adhocannie says:

      Good to hear from you, Audrey. I have been encouraged by people’s kind comments. We were equally distressed at the state of Christchurch and at the time of the earthquake had Rob’s parents with us, and his mother comes from Christchurch. But their problem, although difficult, is nothing to what is facing Japan. But, as you and everyone tells me, it is no good just giving in to despair! Love, Anne

Leave a Reply

