ON DIFFICULT TIMES

I look in the mirror – something I have avoided doing lately – and behold! It is I, myself, again – and not the pitiful waif who has stared back at me of late with haunted eyes and tousled hair.    Suddenly my skin is clear, my eyes are bright and my hair sits as it should.

I examine my image carefully.   Myself looks back, sharp eyed, focussed.   I was always here, she says.   I know that, I reply.   There is a duality at the heart of being human.

I look thin, travel weary, as if I have been on a long journey to countries not always friendly.    But I know my survival is a miracle of love and the kindness of others.   In my mind’s eye I take one last look at the landscape behind me and shudder.     Then I turn my back on it, and think that I must gather my resources quickly and repossess what is mine.   My needs have been great, and they have been most generously met;  my faith in the essential decency and kindness of most people has been restored.   But the time is long overdue for me to stop requiring help and start rendering it.

It has been an arduous journey, long and dangerous, but swiftly completed.   Some people may feel that they would prefer to keep the unloved orphan I appeared to be, instead of accepting the return of my bold self, and I hope to persuade them though possibly unpredictable and by no means a safe bet, there’s much more fun and satisfaction to be had with me than there is in any waif.    However, a failure to meet on neutral ground may be one of the sad casualties, collateral damage as it were.   I will do all in my power to recover what I can, but realistically, not everything is capable of being salvaged.  

As for my beloved fellow traveller, I welcome his return.   With him beside me, the recovery of most things might just be possible.

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

3 Responses to ON DIFFICULT TIMES

  1. Evelyn says:

    So glad you are back.

  2. nan says:

    Bravo!

Leave a Reply

