RICH BEYOND DREAMS OF AVARICE

Recently I’ve been feeling rather low and my optimistic  disposition seems to have temporarily abandoned me.    It’s probably sick of my endless whinging  and snivelling, and I’m missing it and trying to entice it back.   As ever, we do not appreciate our blessings  in life sufficiently.

I’m not by any means a starry eyed optimist.   I’m suspicious, sceptical, critical.   I’m strong willed, determined and self  reliant and once I’ve made up my mind very difficult to shift from my position.    If I, having carefully  considered my options, had made a stand, ten thousand people telling me I was wrong  would not alter my opinion.   I am aware  there are dangers in this attitude.   But  with it goes a firm belief that life is beautiful and wonderful, a willingness  to take a chance and trust in bountiful fortune.    I believe that if you face your  difficulties with the best courage you can muster;  if you are generous and giving ; if you  attempt to walk the path of virtue;  in  short if you do your very best, then spirit and strength and courage will flow  to you and all will be well (though not necessarily what you might have wished for).

And I see that though I sat down to write despondently,  in fact I still believe this.    It comes  back to love.   Love conquers all and if  only you can hold on to that it will shine a light to lead you out of the  darkest of places.     Why will love  conquer all?    Because it’s love.    Hatred, envy, selfishness, greed – these  may be powerful for a time, but in the end they are proved to be the dirty,  despicable little things they are.    How could  love not prevail?

So here’s a few of my blessings.

A good man and true walks through life beside me and has  always done his utmost to protect me (and makes me laugh.)   He is the darling of my heart.

Two lovely talented young women are my tender and beloved daughters  (and they like clothes).

A thoughtful, insightful and handsome young man is my  favourite son (and can fix my computer and cheer me up.)

My parents were gifted and skilled and loved me.

My grandchildren are a delight to me.

The spouses of my children are kind and loving and make  them happy.    May they live forever in such glad harmony.

I rejoice in my kinsmen, the near and the far of them,  those known of old and those met only recently, my own and my husband’s.    They enrich our lives and share our genes.

My intimate friends are intelligent, thoughtful and loyal  companions, who know me very well and amazingly still seem to like me (and  shopping.)

I have a varied and affectionate and fun body of friends  and I have always been extremely fortunate in the people round about me.

I have a thoughtful disposition and am happy within  myself.

I can cook and I like eating and I can eat whatever I  like and stay slim.

I have always found it easy to say whatever I want and never have to struggle to be heard.

I enjoy modest comfort and a sufficiency of material things.

In my day, some people accounted me beautiful.

I have always felt loved.

It is no wonder I have a cheerful disposition – clearly  it is a gift of fate and none of my doing.

Now of course no-one’s life is a list of unmitigated  joys.   All of the above are true, but  some of them come with difficulties.   I  have just chosen to concentrate on the positives.    But it is good to remind yourself  occasionally just how many of these you hold, and how undeserving of such benefits  you are.   I see that in the things that  really matter, I am rich beyond dreams of avarice.

Nor do I believe that my blessings are in any way  extraordinary.   Yours, I am quite sure,  are equally wonderful and miraculous.    Count them and you will see.

And as you read this, count yourself, dear reader, a  blessing of mine.

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

6 Responses to RICH BEYOND DREAMS OF AVARICE

  1. J.C.V. says:

    I am sorry to head you are not optimistic, but you are a beautiful writer. You have a gift.

  2. Elisabeth says:

    I certainly count having you as my wonderful mother as one of my great blessings! E

  3. Carolyn says:

    Our on-going journey of friendship has seen us share so many wonderful high points and has endured potentially devastating crisis in both our lives. What comfort to count you as a dear friend, who enriches my life, (but on occasion it has to be said, has encouraged me to empty my purse!).

Leave a Reply

