GRACE

A week of much kindness from many people.

But three little gifts from the natural world for me.

Sitting in a public space, surrounded only by kindness, but feeling rather agitated and conspicuous, a dog, a black and white collie, wandered past.   He stopped and came back to me, nuzzled my hands and let me stroke him.    Then he raised his head and looked me straight in the eye, a long, brown, intelligent, thoughtful gaze and it was as if he saw all my secrets and ‘said’, Sister, this too will pass.   Then off he went, sniffing, about his doggy business.

Driving along with one of my closest friends, oblivious to the breath-taking beauty of Sussex on a Spring evening, a movement to my left made me look across the field, and there to my astonishment, performing a bravura display of aerial skill in sheer delight, fast and low across the meadow, were the first swallows I’ve seen this year.

And on the South Downs, I sat and enjoyed the view while John had a walk to Ditchling Beacon and back.    In a white van beside me but an empty car space away, a young man shouted down the telephone a series of abusive, threatening calls to a girlfriend.   I sat in the sunshine, carefully not even glancing in his direction, and hoped some grace would fall upon him:  eventually he stopped, buried his head in his hands for a few minues, and then he drove away.   As the sound of his engines faded, I realised his noisy disturbance had masked what I could now hear:  larks, not just one but two at least, singing over the South Downs.

I thought, we have survived the winter.     Larks still sing in the clear air, swallows still return from Africa, a dog is still man’s best friend.

I believe in miracles.

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

6 Responses to GRACE

  1. Kate Kent says:

    Lovely Anne – some poignant thoughts there

  2. Eugene Windsor says:

    Nice short but pithy and poignant piece. Always great to hear a lark and, sadly, increasingly rare these days. Loads in Islay in spring when we were there a couple of years ago. Nae swallows in the frozen north so far.

    • adhocannie says:

      It is such a wonderful and uplifting sound! I’ve since seen two more here above our house, though they were high in the sky so I don’t know if they were passing through. I think they perhaps travel in larger groups. They’ll be with you in a day or two.

  3. nan says:

    A child defined a drawing as a thought with a line round it. But are drawings really needed, or indeed photographs, when this written word goes straight to my brain and in an instant produces such images of your world in Sussex?
    We have larks in the field behind the house. Swallows are waiting for the south wind.

Leave a Reply

