LET THERE BE LIGHT!

LET THERE BE LIGHT

After living in this house for 24 years, John and I have moved from the front bedroom to one at the back of the house.

Needless to say, I have a picture in my head of how I would like the finished room to look and my poor husband has the task of making it happen (for a somewhat exacting client.)   I had ‘sugggested’ that two lamps made from ostrich eggs and bought by us in Stellembosch, S Africa, should stand one on either end of 2 bookcases.   I went out with Janet to an evening meeting, and when I came back. Lo! There was light.

I like to sleep with the curtains open which was never possible when the room faced the street.   But now I can open my eyes at any point and tell how near we are to dawn.   If It is a starry night, as you see the constellations move across the sky, you get a sense of the planet revolving through space.   As dawn comes up you get a weather forecast.   And you are reminded of the season of the year.

Leaving the windows open means you can hear the fox move through the garden,  and as I write this in early June, a muted dawn chorus can be enjoyed, better than any symphony orchestra.   Squirrels and crows dance across our roof but we no longer hear next door’s milk being delivered.   I wake early and I look and listen to these wonderful things and start my day in a spirit of gratitude for being alive.

The room is at present adapted to our needs with the minimum change – but there’s not that much to do really.  Things rearranged in two existing bookcases.    A new mirror.   The TV hung on the wall and connected to Sky.   The doors to the ensuite adjusted.   Two chests of drawers fitted into too small a space and therefore one will have to be ‘adaped’.   A large mirror which we have (and is probably the wrong colour) hung above the rebuilt drawers.   Paper put on the wall behind the bed.    A quilt and two pillowcase covers to be made (so there are also tasks for me.).   A bedside table installed where there’s  no room for one.   New bed linen perhaps?   A cream mohair blanket bought in Knysna Lagoon, S Africa positioned.

No problem whatsoever for Mr Fix It.   The client may be a little particular…   (I seem to recall the word ‘picky’ being applied to me – the unfairness of some people!)    …but she’s flexible, tolerant and reasonable.   As we go into the tasks, Mr Fix It will have his own views and ideas which must be accommodated.      He would no doubt claim he was flexible, tolerant and reasonable (and probably with as much justification as I can!)

I find, aside from doing my tasks and giving my opinion, the best contribution I can make is providing attractive meals, and ones that I know will be liked, so that when the weary workman stops there is something to enjoy.

I’ll keep you posted.

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

3 Responses to LET THERE BE LIGHT!

  1. Sheena says:

    People still have milk delivered?

    I wish I could embrace the night sounds and changing light with the same fondness you describe. My sleeping tastes approach Dracula’s, I think: dark, cold and quiet! No sight, no sound is welcome; blinds and darkening curtains on the windows; a fan running even on the coldest winter night (providing white noise as well as welcome air); ear plugs if necessary; and woe betide the person who wakes me!

    My spirit of gratitude follows an extended period of sensory deprivation.

    • adhocannie says:

      It’s just the natural sounds that I like. I can’t bear the ‘white noise’ – I have tp switch off air conditioning units and then swelter. And I can’t wear ear plugs for fear of what it is you might not be hearing!

    • adhocannie says:

      I don’t think many people still have milk delivered which is why it’s annoying when one’s neighbour does, and it comes at 2 in the morning!

Leave a Reply

