SCORE!

Becoming irritated with my smallest grand-daughter’s continual reaction to most foods of ‘I don’t like it,’ I suggested in exasperation that this phrase be banned.   She could still express a negative view, but she had to do so employing different words.     We suggested various phrases:  ‘This is not my preference’;  ‘I would not say this was my favourite’; ‘This is not to my taste’.   We thought, it will give her pause for thought, and at least she’ll be doing some creative thinking and expanding her (already extensive) vocabulary.   ‘So,’ asked Joanna at the end of the conversation, ‘which of these phrases will you use?’     Dana thought for a moment or two, and then shot me a swift glance from under lowered eye-lashes.    She turned to her mother.   ‘I’ll just say, ‘Granma can eat it.’ she said.

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

Leave a Reply

