CARLO CURLEY

I was sorry to see the obituaries this week for the great Carlo Curley, organist and showman, at the age of only 59.

I saw him only once in concert, all the details of which are quite hazy – apart from Carlo Curley.

I had attended as someone’s companion (therefore their choice of concert) – possibly Carolyn.    I am not sure where the concert was.   I seem to recall a long church like venue, and that it was a school, which would suggest the chapel at Ardingly College; or perhaps Christ’s Hospital, Horsham.

When Carlo Curley marched in, extravert, very fat, breathless etc I was not at all enthusiastic as to our prospects for the evening, but in fact it was one of the most ‘fun’ concerts of classical music I have ever attended.   I’m afraid I cannot recall any of the music.   What I do remember is that Carlo Curley found fault with one of his performances, and halted proceedings and restarted, but in doing so he pretended that the organ was a team of horses, and he was struggling to achieve control and bring it to a halt.  In retrospect, this was probably a set piece of his performances.    But it left me with the picture of the great Carlo Curley, his ample posterior precariously perched on a tiny seat while he wrestled with the controls of this great beast of an organ.

I’m sure the heavenly chorus can always make room for an organ player of his stature.    And fun as well…    I’m surprised we can’t hear their bells ringing from here.

It was a privilege to have heard him even once.

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

2 Responses to CARLO CURLEY

  1. Carolyn Hulatt says:

    Hi Anne

    It was me! I think Irene had tickets and couldn’t attend and asked me/us if we’d like them. What a sad thing that he’s died at such a young age. Like you I’m glad I saw him.

    Sorry I’ve not got round to ringing, have been busy catching up and trailing down to Lewes to take a necklace back which I found broken in my jewellery wrap when I was in Copenhagen, which they are going to fix free of charge.

    Will ring tomorrow.

    Love Carolyn

  2. adhocannie says:

    Oh, I’m glad I remembered SOMETHING right! Thanks for taking me, all those years ago.

Leave a Reply

