MANY MANSIONS

One of the pleasures I did not anticipate when having children was the enjoyment one would eventually have in the development of their family homes.   All three of our children now being married and with their own establishments, visiting them, being their guest and receiving their hospitality, is an unexpected pleasure.

Our children – naturally! – have good taste and it is lovely to see them express that, mingled with that of their spouse.

Joanna has lived in several classic Glasgow tenements – solid homes of good proportion.   Joanna’s taste is slightly funkier, more  eclectic, than mine, and her houses are decorated with objects that reflect her interest in classical mythology, and articles of Scottish interest.   Now of course her house is filled with that most delightful of decorative objects – little girls.

Elisabeth’s home is orderly, elegant and understated, and it contains references to two countries beloved by me – New Zealand, and Japan.   I am writing this while in solitary occupation of her  apartment on a lovely sunny evening.  We are on a level with the tops of trees.   Their bedroom, which they have kindly lent us, looks out on and they have access to a large and private communal garden in the heart of London.   She and her husband and father have gone out to a concert in Hyde Park and I am happy here in this pleasant tranquil space.

Rory has  almost  always lived, even in his earliest days, in houses that were architecturally attractive, and now in his married life, he and Sarah have a beautiful Edwardian house on  a wide and cheerful street, with a sunny and private garden.   His taste is cool and modern, but his wife adds a romantic, European influence to their home which is charming.

Another pleasurable aspect is one’s surprised recollection of articles which either were once one’s own but have been gifted so long ago to one’s child that one has all but  forgotten them, or gifts you have acquired specifically for them while on your travels.   Here they all are – the Japanese objects;  the painting of a  Glasgow tenement;  wooden boxes;  a barometer which I bought in Alford, originally as a gift for my father;  often ceramics acquired by me somewhere in the Orient over the years and now having a new lease of life displayed in someone else’s lovely home, waving cheerfully as it were to one from their shelf.

The skill of the children and their spouses – their taste,  how they can put things together,  how they can decorate, fix electrical matters, install computers, find lovely objects within their means, their eye for colour, their practicality and artistic sense, are things about them of which their father and I are very proud.

They must have learnt something from their lives with us, and with the other parents of the extended family!

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

3 Responses to MANY MANSIONS

  1. Carolyn Hulatt says:

    It must be lovely seeing each of the youngsters homes taking shape. I’m certainly enjoying that aspect of parenthood in connection with Rachel. We’re looking forward to seeing them back in Teddington next week. Apparently they only just managed to fit all twelve bags in to the car before they set off for Cape Cod, which I gather is a case of having accumulated rather more than they thought they had, while been based in Boston.

    I’ll ring the care home regarding a visit on Tuesday to see Marjorie and will let you know about timing. I’ll suggest we visit in the morning, if that’s OK with you?

    Love Carolyn

  2. I’m dreaming of my house with more space and less children’s toys on view. My fantasy house would have two wings, with the living rooms and kitchen space in the center. Then the children’s noise, mess and stuff could all be out of sight. Thank you for the compliments x

Leave a Reply

