WHAT’S BEST?

Who said Citizen Kane was one of  the best  films ever made?    I’ve just watched its lamentably dull progress for the interminable hours it takes – in black and white as well! – and I think it’s one of the most boring and tedious films I’ve watched in a long time.

Orson Welles a great actor?   He appears to me to have only one ‘mode’ – bullying bore.   We all know the Randolph Hearst story;  how he built a vast mansion  for his mistress and funded her career as an opera singer undeterred by the fact that she couldn’t sing.   That’s the story of the film.   It’s not enough.    So who said he was a great actor?   Could it have been Orson Welles?   Certainly he appears to have been a great self publicist!

On the other hand, I’ve just accompanied John with great reluctance to view Captain Phillips.   This is a film about  Somalian pirates with Tom Hanks as the eponymous hero.   Nothing could be further from my idea of a good film.   But John hearing it recommended by friends, wanted to see it, and he has trundled along patiently to many a ‘Portrait of a Lady’ or ‘The Devil Wears Prada’ (the clothes, the clothes…) without complaint.   And contrary to all my expectations, it was a good film.   Tom Hanks was excellent in the principal role, and the film was edge-of-you-seat riveting from beginning to end.   So, Captain Phillips (and Tom Hanks)  for an Oscar…

Did I say that?

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

2 Responses to WHAT’S BEST?

  1. Sheena says:

    How admirable that you stuck with it!

  2. Eugene Windsor says:

    Agree completely. We’ve sat down to watch it twice and did not get to the end either time!

Leave a Reply

