MEMORIES OF 2014

HIGHLIGHTS OF 2014

These days, now I am 65, I count myself fortunate if I am still walking and talking at the end of a year, and I am, fortunately! Years seem to get busier as time goes by, though this may be, I suspect because it takes longer to do anything. Memories and pleasures of the year include:

The wedding of John’s daughter, Kerri, to Nigel in Cornwall and the subsequent birth of their son, James.

The pleasure of spending time with Darren, John’s son and his family, at that wedding and the days around it.

A long and lovely holiday in great heat in France, partly with our friends Nan and Steve; wonderful meals we had together; enchanting towns we saw; adventures we remember with laughter.

Spending time with our delightful grandson, Ewan, and learning that Sarah and Rory, his parents, are expecting another child.

Seeing Elisabeth and Robert’s elegant house emerging from the building project Robert had overseen, and enjoying staying in it. Welcoming their dog, Milo, into our family.

Assisting Joanna and Lawrence and their children to settle into a comfortable, larger home and enjoying seeing them there.

Being in Scotland at the time of the Referendum and our delight at how our country conducted itself.

Being received kindly and hospitably by many old friends in Scotland, and having a family meal at Joanna’s with Eugene, my brother and Susan; and another with Lawrence’s family.

Sailing on Ullswater with John.

A few days spent in the historic and beautiful Winchester where the crypt was knee deep in crystal clear water as if you were in a temple of Neptune.

Spending time in the Cotswolds in the unique and delightful home of our friends, Elizabeth and Jonathan.

Having coffee, meals, shared outings with friends locally.

A delightful weekend in London at Elisabeth’s, with Joanna and Sarah.

Christmas at our home, with Rory, Sarah and Ewan.

When we are young, we feel entitled to all that we receive; but as we get older we realise how blessed we are to be here at all, and in receipt of such riches. And I have not counted the pleasures of watching the sun rise in the morning, and the wind blowing through the trees, and the beauty of the clouds as they pass overhead, or the joyful music of the birds who sing in the garden.

May the year coming bring you your heart’s desire and peace in the enjoyment of it.

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

4 Responses to MEMORIES OF 2014

  1. A wonderful blog. Thank you for putting your year into words.

    Happy 2015.

    xC.

    Clare Collins clare.collins@btinternet.com 077 3211 2727

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Barbara De Caux says:

    Thanks for your wishes, Anne. And for the happy moments you list from 2014. It’s good to leaf through one’s diary – I keep one every day just to feel time is marked somewhere, and am always amazed at how much happens to us, whether it gets forgotten or sticks in the mind. I try like you to feel content about what one has lived, especially those wonderful, memorable times. Let’s hope for more in 2015, Barbara Date: Fri, 26 Dec 2014 12:58:06 +0000 To: barbaradec@hotmail.com

    • adhocannie says:

      The rhing I find interesting is that though you can see in retrospect what were the highlighs of a year, you don’t always recognise that at the time. Therefore we have to live in the moment and enjoy it! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

