FINISHING

I’m somebody who tends to have unfinished projects lying around. There’s no limit to the number of things I can start, launch, plan – but there is a limit to what I can complete. However, it is a characteristic of mine that what I begin, I will finish eventually (if I live that long.) After walking past some item requiring my attention for possibly hundreds of days, one fine day, for no apparent reason, I think, I’ll do that today. So it gets done.

So this week I’ve been on a finishing projects drive. On my list for months has been ‘Relabel glass jars’ but they’ve remained obstinately half labelled, no label at all, the wrong label… This week I’ve been decanting the contents into a spare jar, washing the empty jar, scrubbing off the label, drying said jar with cloth and on heater and refilling. I will do all the labels together but I’m about three quarters through and I’m confident that by early next week, the glass jars will no longer feature on my to do list.

Then I turned my attention to sewing projects. I have no pressing orders for curtains, quilts etc. There’s always requests of course. I would like to make a quilt for Sarah and Rory’s expected baby; Dana would like a base mat for her teepee; and Alex would like a cape, but none of these are urgent. So I slide out the plastic box full of carrier bags with mysterious bits of material in them, and examine the unfinished projects.

There’s material cut out to make a black handbag. I no longer fancy this, so I throw it out. (Yes that counts as completion!)

The other bags contain three cut out pyjamas in cotton, the bottoms half made, for a female child of 4 – 5 (an age we no longer have in the family.) I finish them off (who knows what the future will bring?) They are pleasant to make and I’ve adapted the tops from blouses of mine, so I don’t need to cut the buttonholes and sew on buttons which is a blessing.

There are also two partially made silk dresses, which I think I have failed to complete partly because the full skirt comprises a layer of muslin; a layer of stiff organza type material with tiny sequins scattered on it; and then the silk. The machine needle broke on the sequins so this will have to be done by hand. But again it should be pleasant work and I expect to finish these in the coming week also.

Then I’ll feel very smug with all projects finished, and I’ll start on some new ones.

PS Drat! Discovered two more pyjamas!

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

Leave a Reply

