RAIN

RAIN

It’s early in the morning. No light is visible from behind the curtains, and I can hear the dismal steady drum of heavy rain. I long for Spring.

I have always loved dawn. The new day begins. A glow appears in the darkness from which the sun will shortly arise. The first bird makes its morning salutation and calls the world to wakefulness. The unknown adventures that this day may bring lie before you, waiting to be explored.

As a child, I often woke early in the morning and lay in my bed, rejoicing in the soft silence and peaceful emptiness of the house where no-one else was awake. Often the household cat, having completed her unknown nocturnal activities would return home, and sure of a welcome from me, would leap onto my bed. She brought a smell of the great outdoors with her – fresh salt air, often a whiff of  mouse on her breath. I did not mind. She would lean against me to perform a perfunctory ablution and then stretch out beside me and purr before falling asleep. She had a relaxing and peaceful air, and I often went back to sleep again.

But when it rains? It seems to cast a shadow over the possibilities of the day, reducing it to merely a series of dull tasks to be done. Clean bathroooms, dust, make a quiche – oh who could be bothered with all that – an endless list – make a difficult phone call, iron, water indoor plants…

Perhaps I will go back to sleep. Maybe, if I’m lucky, when I wake up the rain will have ceased. Yes, I know we need the rain, but couldn’t it just fall for an hour or two in the dead of night?

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

Leave a Reply

