GOOD THINGS COME…

We were waiting until 26 March for the arrival of our grandchild. I had just completed the boat quilt, and we felt things were well in hand.

At 10.30 pm on 14 March, we got a call from a resolutely calm Rory requesting that John drive up to London as pre-arranged to look after Ewan. He duly set off; Sarah and Rory went to the hospital and Julia Margaret swiftly made her first appearance ON 15 March 2015.    At 8 lb 7 oz she is quite a large baby; but being used to her bigger brother, you feel she is tiny.

Sitting there on Monday with the bonny baby on my knee, Sarah looking delighted and well beside me, I reflected that it’s only when you experience the huge relief that it’s all over and everything has gone well that you realise what an anxious time a pregnancy is. You weren’t worried of course – there was no reason why you should be. Still, you’re glad it’s all over.

Julia, as is proper for a two day old baby, wasn’t interested in anything except being fed and feeling comfortable. She has an instinctive feeling for where her mother is, and would turn her head in whatever direction Sarah sat.

I cuddled her, with her wonderful feeling of warmth and life and otherness, and her gorgeous new baby smell, and wondered what she would be like. Julia Margaret suggests to me a stately woman, tall, competent, calm, of cool temperament. She did not open her eyes, and you realise you need to look into someone’s eyes to make any judgement on their character. She has long fingered hands.

As for Ewan he was such a good boy for the day and night he stayed with us. He went cheerfully back to his own house in London, carrying a card and present for his sister and mother. He was friendly and gentle with the new baby. He kept this up for several hours, and then it all just got Too Much. We heard him on his little toy telephone, ordering a taxi. Who was going in the taxi, we wondered? Was it for him, to escape from the chaos? Or was it for Julia, who had visited for long enough now and should return to wherever she came from? Of course it may have been for us, his grandparents – you can have too much of a good thing!  Ewan can keep his own counsel, so he didn’t enlighten us.

We rejoice in having ten grandchildren!    Keep them all safe!

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

2 Responses to GOOD THINGS COME…

  1. Kate Kent says:

    Congratulations to you and the family and big welcome to Julia. Hope all continues to go well. Much love. Kate

  2. Leona Thomas says:

    Lovely – my favourite girl’s name too as it was my grandmother’s and 2 cousins’. New life is so wonderful – be it the frog spawn newly laid in my pond or new buds on the shrubs in the garden – or a new wee person. Congratulations to you all.

Leave a Reply

