JAMES

JOVIAL, JOLLY, JOYFUL … JAMES

My step-daughter, Kerri, visited us this week, with her new husband, her pretty daughter, and her gorgeous seven month old baby boy, James. Having observed at close quarters recently our other grandson, Ewan, I was struck by what decided and different personalities babies bring with them on arrival.

The first thing that I noticed about James was his resemblance to Kerri’s grandfather, a man whom I believe I met only twice. John described him as a straight forward, pleasant fellow, easy to get along with, clever … he was a doctor of something or other – chemistry, perhaps. The great grandson, James Anthony (the latter being his paternal grandfather’s name) was a very calm, cheerful and good-natured baby. He looked content with his parents – indeed he seemed predisposed to take pleasure in everything he laid his eyes on, but the source of his chief delight was his 8 year old sister Jessica. Every time she hove into view, his face was wreathed in smiles.

He had plenty of smiles for us too, and I don’t believe I’ve ever seen anyone with a greater disposition to find life fun. I’m sure the possession of this type of personality must make it far more likely that life will be fun. He didn’t complain about getting hungry, but he ate what was offered him with gusto and although you could see him identifying unfamiliar foods and registering their new taste in his palate, he did not decline a single thing.

I thought of Ewan, with his driving, focussed, detached curiosity; and with what intensity he examines things and thinks about them before consigning them to his ever expanding memory banks for retrieval and further contemplation later. Or of Dana, physically delicate but powerful in spirit, with her fearsome temper, her swift and silent judgement, and her deadly tongue: – and her enchanting charm, all the more delightful because she doesn’t choose to reveal it very often.

Obviously it would take too long to list the individual characteristics of all our grandchildren. There have similarities of course, but what is fascinating is how different they are in their unique and lovely ways. But in truth it’s life, with its infinite variety and unlimited potential that is so wonderful and awe-inspiring.

James D’Arcy (what a wonderful name he rejoices in) was good to meet. He comes forward with a ready smile and a glad heart. May the road rise up to meet him always.

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

Leave a Reply

