NORTH!

We recently attended the 80th birthday party of a much loved friend in Scotland. The party had been carefully planned for the comfort and convenience of guests and was a very happy occasion. We met some people we had not seen for over 20 years and we recognised the grown up children because for a brief moment we thought they were their parents (as we had remembered them.)

On the long drive home we were trying to calculate the number of miles we had driven in journeys back to Scotland over the years of our living in the beautiful South, but when we had counted enough to encircle the globe, we gave up.

We went annually while my parents were alive. We have enjoyed my brother and sister in law’s hospitality far more than they have availed themselves of ours. We have attended nine funerals, 3 marriages, two eightieth birthday parties, 2 golden weddings, the arrival of three grandchildren, helped with house moves, scattered ashes. We despatched and collected Joanna from Glasgow University. We ‘attended’ the Referendum. We’ve attended Golf Opens and Scottish Opens.

We’ve had two holidays in Orkney were we viewed the latest astonishing archeological dig, and one in the Western Isles. We’ve thoroughly explored Glasgow and returned to Edinburgh.

Sometimes, when people are so inconsiderate ! as to die in the depths of winter, and we’ve had to power through the darkness in wind and rain, I’ve thought crossly that the Northern dwellers of these islands seem to regard the trip north as a mere afternoon excursion, whereas on the other hand their venturing south represents the equivalent of David Livingston’s exploration of Africa!

But this time I enjoyed staying in my daughter’s comfortable house and her warm welcome, and spending time with my three grand-daughters. I’m glad the friends we left behind have been so kind as to maintain an interest in us and have always been warm and hospitable, inviting us to their great occasions.

Next year, deo volente, will be our 40th wedding anniversary, and we thought we’d like to take a little holiday to celebrate. Africa? Australia? France? We love all these places. But we think we’ll perhaps visit some of the beautiful Scottish islands that we have not yet explored.

Though we’ve lived in Sussex for 28 years, and I knew when I first saw it and fell in love with it that it would prove a faithful lover, there is still a song in our hearts that cries NORTH!

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

Leave a Reply

