FRIENDS DEPARTING

FRIENDS DEPARTING

John and I were very sorry to hear of the death of Terry Wogan. It is true that you felt as if you had lost a personal friend. John had spent many hours driving the roads of Britain accompanied on the radio by the congenial and entertaining Wogan.

Terry Wogan was someone in whose hands you felt safe. There was never any danger of him lapsing beyond the boundaries of good taste. Although he was amiable, you also felt that he had an innate toughness and shrewdness and would deal competently and appropriately with whatever was thrown at him. He had that wonderful combination of self confidence – he knew his worth – and a humility or modesty where he valued other people’s talents as highly as his own.

He also had that peculiarly Irish characteristic where, politically and possibly in other ways, you never know who you are talking to, and people’s inner beliefs remain largely undeclared. Although he was a master of light comedy and ridiculous whimsy, you still felt that at heart he was a serious person.

The reactions to loss and grief are unique to each individual mourner and are not always understood. My mother gave me, many years ago, a dark red lipstick n a golden case. I’ve worn it for years and when I put it on in the morning, I remember my mother. One day last week I put it on and realised it was finished – I could feel the hard edge of the rim. I felt completely desolate, and for all that I have a tendency to eliminate promptly from my life anything which I feel has outlived its usefulness, the empty golden case still lurks in the bottom of the wooden box which once held a whisky bottle and where now I keep my make-up.

You begin to feel undeniably old when people you have known all your life and loved, valued or respected begin to start slipping away one by one. I look around at other loved and long-respected persons – there are precious few – and felt suddenly fearful for them: David Attenburgh. Billy Connolly, the Queen, even, and I think, Don’t go; not yet. Stay with us a little longer.

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

One Response to FRIENDS DEPARTING

  1. Catherine Kent says:

    Very much agree Anne – its been an awful January with the loss of David Bowie, Alan Rickman and now Terry.

Leave a Reply

