SEASONAL CHANGES

It’s recently been that time of year when, in my case anyway, I swap over the summer and winter wardrobes. As I laboriously, over several days, carry out this task, it occurs to me that since we have chosen to have only drawer space in our bedroom, and use the wardrobes in two other rooms, I could just leave the winter wardrobe permanently in the front bedroom and the summer one in the back,(or vice versa). After all, it does not involve a massive trek. I do not need to call a taxi in either case.

But when it comes down to it, I find I just can’t do it. It’s obviously one of the rituals of my life.

I shunt the clothes to their new locations without examining them, but as I take each one out to wear in the following days it, I look it over very critically. Some do not pass this first inspection and are consigned to the charity bag, or cut up straight away. Perhaps they look too worn; old-fashioned; faded; or don’t fit any longer beyond the point that I can be bothered to alter them. Sometimes I just don’t fancy them any more. I’m not sentimental about my clothes (or stuff in general.) (When you’re asked ‘What would you save from the burning house? I think, the people and the animals. Everything else is replaceable.)

The first wearing is also a trial of the garment. If it’s not comfortable; if the shoulder slips off; if the material is too stiff; shiny; coloured; boring etc ; if the trouser legs are too short; then even though presumably it was also that the previous year at the end of the day I put it to be disposed of. This year I seem to dispose of as many garments as Henry VIII dismissed Queens.

Once they’ve gone, comes the good part (as no doubt Henry Tudor also found.) I look for the gaps in my wardrobe and set about filling them.

During my perambulation through my wardrobe, I come across The Dog Blanket Dress. ( A white wool dress I made, of which the result was not at all flattering .) It has sulked in the wardrobe ever since. I have never worn it, but could never quite give it up. Looking at it gloomily, I realise that it is the top half of the garment which doesn’t suit me. The bottom half is just a plain straight skirt. I have enough material left to try once more for a good outcome. (No-one can accuse me of a lack of patience and endurance!)

I cut off the bodice. I iron on interfacing in to the new waistband. I attach the waistband to the skirt and fit it to me. I pin in the darts by eye and sew them. I attach a dot of glue to the tops of the truncated zip so the zip fastener does not go skiting off into oblivion! The result doesn’t seem too bad. I hang it up in the Winter wardrobe. With a black cashmere cardigan, a small black leather handbag, black boots and a pearl and onyx necklace it should do nicely.

I’ll let you know if it turns out well. I just hope it doesn’t morph into The Dog Blanket Skirt.

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

One Response to SEASONAL CHANGES

  1. Sheena says:

    Glad to hear the dog blanket dress is getting a new lease on life. What will you do with the cutaway bodice? Can’t wait for the next installment of this sewing saga.

Leave a Reply

