MACHINE OVERLOAD

I sometimes think, with all our modern aids, that we are going to lose a lot of our natural abilities. It’s so easy,with Sat Nav to punch the coordinates in, and then voice and map take you there. Will future generations lose the ability to read maps and decide on a route? Can sailors still navigate by the stars?

We’ve had one of those weeks when you’re afraid even to look at a piece of equipment for fear it will break down.

The first casualty was our rain shower in our main bathroom. It shrank to an unsatisfactory trickle, accompanied by the most incredible noise. We hastily switched it off. We have another shower or bath, so that was inconvenient but manageable. The plumber has been and fixed the pump and that now runs as it should.

Then, as if in sympathy, an unbelievable series of crashes and bangs came from the central heating unit (not on for the heating at the moment, but heating the hot water). We switched that off. We have an electrical option for the hot water heating but it provides about a third of the water and it’s never what I’d call really hot. Apparently there is no connection between these two failures. The engineer has ordered the part and is coming shortly.

Then finally (or at least I hope it’s finally) the TV failed. I’ve staved my wrist and it’s still quite painful so I need to rest, not using my arm, and so watching TV alleviated the boredom. The problem had been caused by, so the help desk in Mumbai informed us, a download of data to our box (no, I don’t understand any of this either) by them, which proved too much for it. The news that the earliest resolution that could be expected was in 8 days time proved too much for John. I left him requesting to speak to someone in the UK (But I am speaking my very best English, sir…)

Frankly, I’m not too hopeful.

PS Oh me of little faith. John unearthed some old TV from somewhere, attached it to something mysterious in our bedroom, and abracadabra, as if by magic we have main channels. Plus a new box is to come a week sooner and at their expense, not ours.

A toast… To men. We don’t appreciate them enough. They may not be good at talking or ‘sharing their emotions’, but who cares about that when you don’t have hot water or TV?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

Leave a Reply

