LACKS BACKBONE

I’ve fallen and injured my back. I’ve had an Xray and am told it should recover without intervention but it still remainds bloody sore with every breath I take, and I’m somebody who can’t really remember a time when my back didn’t ache to some degree.

At best at the moment I feel as if I have a hole where my back should be; at its worst it’s just one long streak of misery and anguish.

You realise the significance of certain sayings. Lacks backbone – means you haven’t the strength to stand your ground against opposition.    Put Your Back Into It, means, put your strength into supporting it.    Covering your back – protecting a weak area.

Also our back is involved in things you never knew it understood.   Putting up with irritating people – you need your back to be flexible and strong for that. Clearly it’s imvolved in writing and thinking, because that’s the extent of my ruminations about backbone, and you couldn’t describe them as insightful, comprehensive or succinct.  The fact remains that right now I haven’t got the backbone to resist anything;  or any wit and charm or  powers of persuasion to conceal its absence.

And now you’ll need to excuse me. I’m going to hobble off somewhere else. Did you ask where?   What does it matter and who cares?

Normal service  will be resumed as soon as possible.

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

4 Responses to LACKS BACKBONE

  1. Moira McNair says:

    So sorry to hear about your accident and back. Tied up with granddaughter this week but after that if you need any help just call, Love Moira

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. maggielamb says:

    Dear Anne, I am so sorry to read of this fall and injury, I truly hope it heals quickly and you are very soon BACK to your old witty strong self . Much love , Maggie xxxx

  3. Nan Wylie says:

    What rotten luck,Anne, I am so very sorry you are in so much pain. Arnica is excellent for getting bruising to move therefore the inflamed tissue will subside and give the vertebra a chance to take up their normal position. I hope it all improves soon.Love, Nan xx

  4. adhocannie says:

    Thanks for all the kind comments.It’s slowly improving.

Leave a Reply

