REPORT

LATEST REPORT

It is some time since I wrote a regular blog but I’m ready to pick up my pen (or rather, sit down at my machine) again.

We are now quite settled in to our new abode.   It’s comfortable, spacious, sunny and quiet.   We’re amazed how quiet it is (I’m afraid we may be a noisy element for other people to put up with.)   We ourselves cannot hear our neighbors in any way.    We can see aeroplanes overhead but we cannot hear them.    Many people do  not have cars here (there are buses that go to the shopping towns around us) and there is no noise of cars coming and going.

Although I believe that there is another town  technically nearer, we have continued to do our shopping, banking etc in our old town, which is only 20 minute away, and is flatter, better known to us, and easier to park in. 

We did not buy any new furniture except Ikea bookcases and china cabinets, plus a chair and stool or me to replace one that was rather old.   We kept about half of our paintings and they look good;  the other half went to our children.    I find you do not miss – at all – the items you have given up because you have down sized, and in fact when we were at Elisabeth’s for Christmas and she was using what had formerly been our but is now her) Doulton dinner service, I was pleased to see such a lovely set of china in use, and frankly slightly relieved that it was no longer my responsibility.

I still cannot readily find smaller items but I am improving.   My sewing cupboard which holds all my sewing paraphernalia is in constant use and I am very pleased with it.    I have covered three outside cushions with material that is black and silver and was in Rory’s bedroom in our old house; plus I have covered a stool and made a matching cushion cover. I have a summer dress half made, but I have had to stop these projects n order to alter all of my trousers as they are (quite literally) falling off me.

One of the nicest things about here is that there is a smart, small restaurant which is quite reasonably priced and it has been a great pleasure to have most of our friends to lunch.    We have attended some meetings.   Everyone  is very friendly.   John has joined the Gardening Club and I am helping to set up a book group.   My little thoughts on each month of the year are being published in the inhouse pamphlet.  

And the downside?  I can’t think of any at the moment but doubtless some will occur to me as time goes on.

About adhocannie
I am a good natured woman with a long memory and a swift tongue. I like loooking at things and thinking about them. Also food, clothes, travel, reading, sewing. I try to see the ridiculous in things, but sobriety of reflection keeps edgting in. I have husband, children, grandchildren, friends... I feel rich in things that matter. I am a happy exile. I like writing. I do not like talking about me (though I do.). You willl be much more interesting.

Leave a comment